Follow me on Twitter! And make Autostraddle love me!

I had all of these grandiose plans to blog for thirty consecutive days. And I decided my birthday would be the perfect day to start because June 1st is my birthday and June has 30 days in it. Brilliant! And now it’s June 5th and what have I done? Nothing. Cooool. Sorry. So I’m debating whether to go with the original plan or start anew.

The original plan was an adaptation on this semi-annoying Facebook trend where people post 30 days worth of music videos meeting certain tag phrases or criteria. I was thinking 30 days of music posts. But not just videos… me writing about the music. Because, a long time ago in a far away place, I dreamed of writing for Rolling Stone.

However, I currently have a new writing obsession in the form of Autostraddle. I am obsessed. Almost to unhealthy levels. I have read every article posted since the genesis of the site– or at least as far as the archives go– over the course of the past five days. And I am still going to work. This means I am choosing Autostraddle over sleep. My introduction to Autostraddle came from frequent mentions on EffingDykes— a blog about geology and landscape architecture. While I often saw mentions of Autostraddle, I never visited the site because I wasn’t really sure I wanted to read what they were putting down.

And then this friend from high school–well, we weren’t really friends, but she was friends with this girl I dated and I’m really sorry if she reads my blog, but we were acquaintances–messaged me on Facebook to tell me it was my “responsibility as a gold-star lesbian to read Autostraddle”. So I started reading and subsequently thanked her for giving me one of the greatest gifts ever thought possible via the internet.

I want to write for Autostraddle. I want to write for Autostraddle so badly that I have created a twitter in the hopes of spreading my blog to a larger audience and having lesbians (and other people I guess) who like funny things share my blog/twitter with other lesbians/people who like funny things and one day someone at Autostraddle will say, “Hey! This bitch is funny!” and then I will have achieved my dream. All while enlightening the minds of young people. It’s like a secret-double-life… except it can all be revealed by Google in mere seconds. But whatever. I have dreams, okay! And… yeah!

This may be the most articulate post I have ever written. They’d be crazy not to choose me!

Anyway…

I was going to start writing the real point of this blog post now… except this post is already doomed. So instead I am going to save it by sharing one of my favorite elements of Autostraddle: Julie & Brandy in Your Box Office.

The whole video is totally worth it. But if you watch nothing else, start watching at 5:15.

Yeah… follow me on twitter! @the_clean_freak

1 thought on “Follow me on Twitter! And make Autostraddle love me!

Leave a comment